Know The Step By Step Growth Of Embryo Into Fetus

The baby develops slowly in the uterus and as the weeks pass the embryo turns into fetal particles and then develops as a baby. Every step is important and hence it is necessary that one must take care at each stage and follow the recommended steps. This not only helps you carry the gestation to the full term, but also helps women to know when they can opt to make use of online Abortion Pills.

The pregnancy starts with the zygote and further continues as an embryo and then a fetus. The whole process is slow and takes time.


The fertilization process usually starts after some days of ovulation. This is a point when the sperm and eggs meet. They create a single-cell embryo and it is known as Zygote.

Embryo and fetus

Most of the people do get confused with both terms. An embryo is simply a stage till the gestation is up to the 9th week. After the 9th week, the embryo is considered a fetus. The fetus is further developed and as soon as a woman delivers a child it is considered as a baby.

First 10 weeks of the gestation

The initial 2 weeks of the gestation

During this period, you’re not pregnant. During this period, your body starts to release the egg. While counting the length of pregnancy, it is a must to consider the first day of the last menstrual so that it can help you get an accurate due date.

3rd weeks of the gestation

This is the point when ovulation begins. The release of eggs passes to the Fallopian tube and if the sperm mates then the egg begins to fertilize and ends up turning into Zygote.

4th weeks of the gestation

After fertilization is completed, the zygote gets divided and it continues its journey toward the Fallopian tube to get implanted in the uterine lining. The Zygote takes a time of 3 days so that it can reach its destination and get implanted.

As soon as the implantation takes place, the hCG level in the body increases, and this can be known with the help of a pregnancy test.

5th weeks of the gestation

This period is known as the embryonic period wherein the baby’s system begins to form. Three layers contribute to the growth of the embryo and during this initial period, the embryo is similar to the size of the pen’s tip.

  • The top layer of this embryo is known as ectoderm and it is responsible for the baby’s skin, connective tissues, inner eyes, and nervous system.
  • The last layer that is responsible for the baby’s lungs, bladder, or intestine does develop later and is known as the endoderm.
  • While the middle layer known as the Mesoderm is responsible for the growth of the reproductive system, baby’s bones, and muscles.

6th weeks of the gestation

This is a very delicate period. The baby’s heart starts to beat and this can be detected with the help of an ultrasound test. Though the baby is not fully grown it slowly begins to develop some basic features.

7th weeks of the gestation

The brain and head are developed slowly and grow week after week. The buds of the legs and arms that occur in the 6th week are not turning into the paddle. The lenses of the eyes and nostrils to begin to develop during this period.

8th weeks of the gestation

During this week the eyes, eyelids, upper lips, and nose begin to develop.

9th weeks of the gestation

The body begins to form slowly and during this period, the eyes and eyelids get refined.

10th weeks of the gestation

This is the last week of an embryo and further, it is known as a fetus and grows as a fetal part.

The journey of the embryo till here is smooth and a mother needs to take care of it during this the first 10 weeks of the gestation.

Also, if you’re someone who is not looking to continue with the pregnancy can choose to end the gestation with the help of an online MTP kit before 9 weeks. Till the fetus is in the embryo phase, the pregnancy can be terminated.

Published on